Your browser does not support JavaScript or it's turned off.
FSEG LOGO FIRE SAFETY ENGINEERING GROUP The Queen's Anniversary Prize 2002 The British Computer Society IT Awards 2001 The European IST Prize Winner 2003 The Guardian University Awards Winner 2014
The Faculty of Architecture, Computing & Humanities
UNIVERSITY of GREENWICH


FSEG Group

FSEG comprises 33 staff members who have research interests within the fire safety arena. In 1998 the University awarded Dr David Purser of the Fire Research Station BRE, the position of Visiting Professor in Fire Safety and Toxicology.

Prof Ed Galea PhD CMath FIMA MIFS MIFireE CEng
Group Director: Evacuation Modelling, CFD, Fire Field Modelling
Email: E.R.Galea@gre.ac.uk
Dr Mayur Patel MSc PhD CMath FIMA
Senior Associate: CFD, Fire Field Modelling
Email: M.K.Patel@gre.ac.uk
Dr Peter J Lawrence PhD
Reader: Principal Software Development Manager for EXODUS, Evacuation Modelling, Software Engineering
Email: P.J.Lawrence@gre.ac.uk
Mr Lazaros Filippidis BSc MSc
Senior Research Fellow: Evacuation Modelling, Software Engineering
Email: L.Filippidis@gre.ac.uk
Mr Darren Blackshields BSc MSc
Research Fellow: Software Engineering, Evacuation Research
Email: D.Blackshields@gre.ac.uk
Mr David Cooney BSc MSc
Research Fellow: Evacuation Modelling, Virtual Reality, Databases, Software Engineering, Video Processing and Analysis
Email: D.P.Cooney@gre.ac.uk
Dr Steven Deere BSc PhD
Research Fellow: Evacuation Modelling
Email: S.Deere@gre.ac.uk
Dr Lynn Hulse MA (Hons) PGDip PhD
Research Fellow: Evacuation Research, Applied Cognitive Psychology
Email: L.Hulse@gre.ac.uk
Mr Gary Sharp BSc
Research Fellow: Evacuation Modelling
Email: sg41@gre.ac.uk
Mr Asim Siddiqui BSc MSc MBCS
Research Fellow: Software Engineering, Databases, Web based development, BIM
Email: A.A.Siddiqui@gre.ac.uk
Dr Anand Veeraswamy B.Eng MSc PhD
Research Fellow: Way Finding, AI, Evacuation Modelling
Email: va18@gre.ac.uk
Dr Hui Xie MSc PhD
Research Fellow: Evacuation Modelling
Email: xh02@gre.ac.uk
Mr Simo Haasanen B.Eng
Research Assistant: Evacuation Modelling, Virtual Reality
Email: S.Haasanen@greenwich.ac.uk
Dr John Ewer BSc MSc PhD
Senior Research Fellow: Principal Software Development Manager for SMARTFIRE, Fire Modelling, Software Engineering
Email: J.Ewer@gre.ac.uk
Dr Angus Grandison BSc MSc PhD
Senior Research Fellow: CFD, Parallel Processing, Spray Modelling, Fire Field Modelling
Email: A.J.Grandison@gre.ac.uk
Dr Fuchen Jia BSc MSc PhD
Senior Research Fellow: Combustion Modelling, CFD
Email: F.Jia@gre.ac.uk
Dr Zhaozhi Wang MSc PhD
Senior Research Fellow: Fire Modelling
Email: Z.Wang@gre.ac.uk
Mr Ian Frost BSc MSc
Research Fellow: CAD import, Visualisation
Email: I.R.Frost@gre.ac.uk
Mr Owain Thompson
Doctoral Student (PT):
Mr Charlie Hopkin
Doctoral Student:
Email: hc93@greenwich.ac.uk
Mr Ashish Kirori B.Eng MSc
Doctoral Student: Signage & Occupants Behaviour Modelling
Email: A.Kirori@greenwich.ac.uk
Mrs Madeleine Togher BSc
Doctoral Student: Evacuation Modelling
Email: tm63@gre.ac.uk
Mrs Claudia Hollmann Dipl.-Math.
Doctoral Student: Evacuation Modelling
Email: C.Hollmann@gre.ac.uk
Ms Aoife Hunt BSc
Doctoral Student: Evacuation Modelling, Movement devices
Email: A.L.Hunt@greenwich.ac.uk
Ms Maria Pretorius B.Eng
Doctoral Student: Evacuation Modelling, Large crowds
Email: M.Pretorius@greenwich.ac.uk
Mr Rob Brown
Doctoral Student: Evacuation Modelling, Ship evacuation
Email: br42@greenwich.ac.uk
Ms Sidra Athar
Doctoral Student:
Email: as61@greenwich.ac.uk
Mrs Kristen Salzer-Frost BA B.Eng MFSE AIFireE
Doctoral Student: Evacuation Modelling, Fire Modelling
Email: K.M.Salzer-Frost@greenwich.ac.uk
Mr Michael Dullaway BSc
Doctoral Student: Fire Modelling, Sprinkler systems
Email: M.Dullaway@greenwich.ac.uk
Ms Xiaoqin Hu
Doctoral Student: Fire Modelling, Combustion Modelling
Email: X.Hu@greenwich.ac.uk
Mr Markus Sauter B.Eng
Doctoral Student: Fire Modelling, CFD, Performance enhancements
Email: M.Sauter@greenwich.ac.uk
Prof David Purser
Visiting Professor: Fire Safety Engineering
Dr Jun Ho Choi BSc MSc PhD
Visiting Research Fellow: From Kyungpook National University of South Korea from Jan 2012.
Research Area: Evacuation Research
Email: J.Choi@gre.ac.uk


EX-FSEG GROUP MEMBERS
Prof Margaret Law
New Position: Now retired
Dr Kate Finney
New Position: Now retired
Dr Steven Gwynne
Left FSEG May 2014, New Position: Research Officer, National Research Council Canada
Dr Michael Kinsey
Left FSEG Jan 2013, New Position: Fire Engineer, Arup, London
Dr Rodrigo Machado Tavares
Left FSEG in 2010, New Position: Works as a private consultant for fire safety projects in Brazil and Argentina (www.rmt-fire-crowd-safety.com).
Dr Arun Mahalingam
Left FSEG Jan 2012, New Position: Senior Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering Department, Kumaraguru College of Technology, Coimbatore, INDIA
Dr Yasmina Mohedeen
Completed PhD in Sept 2011. New Position: Part-time tutor for University of Greenwich
Dr Nitish Chooramun
Completed Phd in July 2011. Returned to the Mauritius

 

Last modified: 06 October 2014

Copyright 2003- University of Greenwich | Privacy and cookies | Accessibility | Contact the Webmaster